Home » Scientific Operations

Scientific Operations

 

These three Scientific Operations are at the heart of projects conducted by the Réunion Region, local authorities and the French Government in terms of territorial competitiveness within the Regional Innovation Strategy.


Terrestrial solar radiation shows strong spatial and temporal variability in relation to climate.

In this context, the Scientific Operation “Solar Resource : variability in Reunion and the tropics, metrology and modelling” proposes to document the variability of solar radiation incident at the surface on medium to fine scales in time and space, in the insular areas of the south-west Indian Ocean in general and Reunion Island in particular, for applications, particularly those of predictability of climate change and daily and hourly variations in the resource.

To document the variability of solar radiation on the ground, it is envisaged to develop solar radiation data in high resolution grid points with a continuous spatial and temporal coverage, by an original approach combining two scientific approaches:

  • Experimentation
  • Simulation

The scientific operation “Solar Resource” focuses mainly on:

  • Characterization (estimation, forecast) of a renewable energy source: solar radiation
  • Energy modelling of systems using a fatal intermittent source that varies in space and time.

This resource evaluation is also essential when the associated energy systems will be integrated on non-interconnected electricity networks, as it is often the case in island environments.

 


The research carried out in the Scientific Operation (OS) 2 concerns electrochemical converters of PEM (Proton Exchange Membrane) type:

The design and conception of a reversible Fuel Cell (at the scale of the fuel cell core)

Renewable electricity production, whatever its source, has the major disadvantage of being intermittent. The question then becomes “how to store electricity during production peaks to consume it during consumption peaks”? One of the solutions currently recommended is to store energy via an electrolyzer that converts electricity into hydrogen and oxygen during low consumption hours. This energy is then returned via a Fuel Cell which converts hydrogen and oxygen back into electricity during peak consumption hours.

OS2 researchers are currently developing an innovative three-chamber reversible fuel cell concept that can perform the functions of electrolyser or fuel cell. The aim of this work is to design a an optimized system in terms of both space and cost.

 

Modeling and control of a PEMFC Fuel Cell A (system-wide)

PaC systems are electrochemical converters able to convert hydrogen into electricity. Several locks limit the large-scale integration of PEM type PAC systems, including membrane aging, which impacts both the durability, performance and maintenance cost of generators.

The PACs operation being governed by non-linear, multi-physical and multi-scale interactions, it is difficult to accurately characterize the operating conditions in order to optimize their performance and service life.

OS2 researchers are working on the diagnosis of system failures, and on service life forecast. The method used is the modelling of system behaviour and the design of fault-tolerant control algorithms. These tools help to prevent premature aging of these systems and thereby increase their reliability and durability.

 

Another related theme, in collaboration with the DSIMB laboratory (Dynamics of Systems and Interactions of Biological Macromolecules), is to explore, model and optimize new biological hydrogen production pathways by upgrading sugar co-products (second-generation biofuel).

 


Smartphones, UAVs, temperature or motion sensors… By 2020, 50 billion devices will be connected to a vast network: the Internet of Things, whose technology used is the wireless sensor.  There are many challenges ahead. One of our team’s concerns is the energy autonomy of the sensors.

The sensor networks are perfectly integrated into the daily life of the population for years to come, especially in smart city projects. The multitude of data that OS3 Researchers will be able to measure and collect will be as many services to people that can be developed (among other things in the form of business creation).

Energy Optimization of Sensor Networks

The scientific operation  focuses mainly on:

  • The precise definition of the energy evolution of the network, both at local level (node and its constituents) and global (the network as a whole and communication protocols)
  • The development of topologies and routing protocols at low energy cost
  • Energy/information coupling, with integrated RF energy recovery within communication protocols and in the power supply of network nodes (Wake Up Radio or Radio Trigger).

Accueil » Opérations Scientifiques

Opérations Scientifiques

 

 

Ces trois opérations scientifiques sont au cœur des projets menés la Région Réunion, les collectivités et l’Etat en terme de compétitivité territoriale au sein de la Stratégie Régionale de l’Innovation.


Le rayonnement solaire terrestre présente une forte variabilité spatiale et temporelle en lien avec le climat.

Dans ce contexte, l’Opération Scientifique « Gisement Solaire : variabilité à La Réunion et en zone tropicale, métrologie et modélisation » propose de documenter la variabilité du rayonnement solaire incident à la surface sur des échelles moyenne à fine dans le temps et l’espace, dans les espaces insulaires de la zone sud-ouest de l’océan Indien en général et à La Réunion en particulier, ceci à des fins d’applications, notamment celles de la prévisibilité des changements climatiques et des variations journalières et horaires  de la ressource.

Pour documenter la variabilité du rayonnement solaire au sol, il est envisagé de développer des données de rayonnement solaire en points de grille à haute résolution avec une couverture spatiale et temporelle continue, par une approche originale alliant deux approches scientifiques :

  • Expérimentation
  • Modélisation

L’opération scientifique « Gisement solaire » se concentre principalement sur:

  • La caractérisation (estimation, prévision) d’une source d’énergie renouvelable : le rayonnement solaire
  • La modélisation énergétique de systèmes utilisant une source intermittente fatale variable dans l’espace et le temps. Cette évaluation de la ressource s’avère également indispensable lorsque les systèmes énergétiques associés seront intégrés sur des réseaux  électriques non-interconnectés comme cela est souvent le cas en milieu insulaire.

 


Les travaux de recherche menés dans le cadre de L’opération Scientifique (OS) 2 concernent les convertisseurs électrochimique de type PEM (Proton Exchange Membrane) :

 

  • La conception et le design d’une Pile A Combustible réversible (à l’échelle du cœur de pile)

La production d’électricité renouvelable, quel que soit sa source, présente l’inconvénient majeur de son intermittence. La question devient alors « comment stocker l’électricité pendant les pointes de production pour la consommer durant les pointes de consommation » ? Une des solutions préconisées à l’heure actuelle est de stocker l’énergie via un électrolyseur qui convertit l’électricité en hydrogène et oxygène pendant les heures de faible consommation. Cette énergie est ensuite restituée via une Pile A Combustible qui reconvertit l’hydrogène et l’oxygène en électricité durant les heures de forte consommation.

Les chercheurs de l’OS2 développent à l’heure actuelle un concept innovant de Pile A Combustible réversible à trois chambres pouvant réaliser les fonctions d’électrolyseur ou de Pile A Combustible. Ces travaux ont pour objectif de concevoir un système optimisé, tant du point de vue de l’encombrement, que du point de vue du coût.

 

  • La modélisation et le contrôle d’une Pile A Combustible de type PEMFC (à l’échelle du système)

Les systèmes PaC sont des convertisseurs électrochimiques capables de convertir l’hydrogène en électricité. Plusieurs verrous limitent l’intégration à grande échelle de systèmes PAC de type PEM, parmi lesquels le vieillissement des membranes, qui impacte à la fois la durabilité, les performances et le coût de maintenance des générateurs.

Le fonctionnement des PAC étant régi par des interactions non linéaires, de nature multi physiques et multi échelles, il est difficile de caractériser avec précision les conditions opératoires permettant d’optimiser leurs performances et leur durée de vie.

Les chercheurs de l’OS2 travaillent sur le diagnostic des défaillances du système, ainsi que sur le pronostic de durée de vie. La méthode utilisée est la modélisation du comportement du système et la conception d’algorithmes de contrôle tolérants aux fautes. Ces outils permettent de prévenir le vieillissement prématuré de ces systèmes et, de fait, d’augmenter leur fiabilité et leur durabilité.

 

Un autre thème connexe, en collaboration avec le laboratoire DSIMB (Dynamique des Systèmes et Interactions des Macro-molécules Biologiques) consiste à explorer, modéliser et optimiser de nouvelles voies biologiques de production d’hydrogène par valorisation de co-produits sucriers (biocarburant de deuxième génération).

 


Smartphones, drones, capteurs de température ou de mouvement… D’ici à 2020, 50 milliards d’appareils seront connectés à un vaste réseau : l’Internet des objets, dont la technologie utilisée est le capteur sans fil.  De nombreux défis sont à relever. Un préoccupe notre équipe : l’autonomie énergétique des capteurs.

Les réseaux de capteurs s’intègrent parfaitement dans le quotidien de la population pour les années à venir, notamment dans les projets de villes intelligentes. La multitude de données que nous seront capables de mesurer et collecter seront autant de services aux personnes qui pourront être développés (entre autre sous forme de créations d’entreprises).

 

L’opération scientifique se concentre principalement sur:

  • La définition précise de l’évolution énergétique du réseau, à la fois au niveau local (nœud et ses constituants) et global (le réseau dans son ensemble et protocoles de communication)
  • Le développement de topologies et de protocoles de routage à faible coût énergétique
  • Le couplage énergie/information, avec la récupération d’énergie RF intégrée au sein des protocoles de communication et dans l’alimentation des nœuds du réseau (Wake Up Radio ou Radio Trigger).