Home » Ongoing projects » SYSPACREVERS » Presentation

Presentation

The SysPàCRever project (Innovations and proof of concept for the conversion and production of stored solar electric energy via the hydrogen vector: Reversible Fuel Cell System) proposes the design, optimization and real-time testing of a new 3-chamber reversible PàC concept that can perform electrolyzer or fuel cell functions.

The Reunion Island region is no exception to the energy problem. As an island region, it is characterized by a situation of high energy dependence. Even if the use of local and renewable energy resources is higher than that used in metropolitan France, it is nevertheless insufficient in relation to the objectives set in terms of energy autonomy.

As the share of renewable energies is to be increased in the coming years, the question of their storage appears to be a key factor, essential to this development. Indeed, the production of renewable electricity, whatever its source: hydropower, wind power, solar power, has to varying degrees the major disadvantage of its intermittency.

The question then becomes: how to store the electricity produced during production peaks in order to consume it during consumption peaks?

One of the solutions currently recommended is to store energy via an electrolyser, which converts electricity into hydrogen and oxygen during low consumption hours. This energy is then returned via a fuel cell, which converts hydrogen and oxygen back into electricity on the grid during high consumption hours.

Accueil » Projets en cours » SYSPACREVERS » Presentation

Presentation

Le projet SysPàCRever (Innovations et preuve de concept pour la conversion et la production de l’énergie électrique solaire stockée via le vecteur Hydrogène : Système Pile à Combustible Réversible) propose la conception, l’optimisation et le test en temps réel d’un nouveau concept de PàC réversible à 3 chambres pouvant réaliser les fonctions d’électrolyseur ou de Pile à combustible.

La région Réunion, n’échappe pas à la problématique de l’énergie. En tant que région insulaire, elle est caractérisée par une situation de dépendance énergétique importante. Même si l’utilisation des ressources énergétiques locales et renouvelables est supérieure à celle utilisée en France métropolitaine, elle est cependant insuffisante au regard des objectifs fixés en termes d’autonomie énergétique.

La part des énergies renouvelables devant être augmentée dans les années à venir, la question de leur stockage apparaît alors comme un facteur-clé, indispensable à ce développement. En effet, la production d’électricité renouvelable, quel que soit sa source : hydraulique, éolienne, solaire, présente à des degrés divers, l’inconvénient majeur de son intermittence. La question devient alors : comment stocker l’électricité produite pendant les pointes de production pour la consommer durant les pointes de consommation ?

Une des solutions préconisées, à l’heure actuelle, est de stocker l’énergie via un électrolyseur, qui convertit l’électricité en hydrogène et oxygène pendant les heures de faible consommation. Cette énergie est ensuite restituée via une pile à combustible, qui reconvertit l’hydrogène et l’oxygène en électricité sur le réseau pendant les heures de fortes consommations.